Put Less Money Where Your Mouth Is

5 Nov

I accidentally learned how to save money!

I got tired of the daily back and forth: “What do you want for supper?” “I don’t know, what do you want for supper?” “I asked you first.” “No, you decide.” It’s enough for someone to google “price of divorce.” Maybe not quite that bad, but I’m sure you understand how annoying it can be. Then once it is established that no one cares what we will be having for supper, we end up reaching for something simple like spaghetti. Or pizza. Or hamburgers. You get the idea. Then we whine about eating the same thing over and over again. Then the cycle starts over again the next day.

I decided that if we wanted to end the daily last-minute cooking, that I should start planning our suppers all week. I sat down with my husband and discussed meals for week one. We went grocery shopping and came home with an $80 grocery bill! I was so excited that I nearly peed on myself. The next week we did the same, only I began to notice that my menu lacked variety. I felt inspired to choose a few menu items that I had never cooked before (thanks, pinterest!). Week two, $60 grocery bill! Not only did I nearly soil my undergarments, I also learned to cook a few new things. The next week, we did the same thing again. Found a few more new recipes.  Mother fucking $52 grocery bill. Whaaaaat? I didn’t expect to save money going into this. I didn’t even expect to learn to cook new things. It just happened that way. When I planned out the menu, I made a grocery list at the same time. When we went shopping, I would buy something because we needed it for the week, not just because we ran out of the item.

Pinterest has made me all crafty and shit.

I even made a meal planning box complete with sewn on coupon holder.

I know that this sounds like a “cheeseball mom” type thing to do, but it really didn’t even start that way. This can work for everyone. People who live alone, people with roommates, ANYONE! It’s a great way to save money. It’s also a great way to add new recipes to your personal menu. It’s also caused me to use my slow cooker more. You can make some kick-ass soups in the slow cooker! Our next shopping trip is tomorrow, which begins our next week of planned meals. Do any of you plan your meals? What are some of your favorite recipes?

7 Responses to “Put Less Money Where Your Mouth Is”

  1. Amanda Faris November 5, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    I like to make Tator tot casserole super easy. layer of tots, hamburger mixed with cream of mushroom (SIL uses cream of chicken)and I add a can of cream corn to mine now days, another layer of tots. Cook till hot and bubbly all the way through. Top with cheese and cook till melted. Easy dinner.

    • ContradictingKimmy November 6, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      Sounds yummy. Thanks!! Do you put the tots in when they’re still frozen?

  2. Jennifer Rougeau Womack November 5, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Oh, but wait. The slow cooker is good for so much more than soups. I bake chicken in mine! Raw chicken, seasoning, and that’s it. No liquid required. (It took me a while to wrap my mind around this.)

    Here’s a site you may like: http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/

    • ContradictingKimmy November 6, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      That’s the blog I’ve been getting a bunch of recipes from lately! I saw it on pinterest and I remembered you mentioned it. I’ve just been in the mood for soups lately. There are definitely a ton of great ones on there!!

  3. Deborah the Closet Monster November 6, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    This was akin to how I started cooking! I kept saying, “I’m going to learn how to cook.” Except that wasn’t broken down into any steps, so it never happened.

    Finally I said, “I am going to cook three @#$@# meals a week.” I started pulling recipes off vegweb.com and, voila! I was making tasty things despite never having cooked before and saving a buttload at the grocery store!

    I’ve been way off track the last few months though. This is a great reminder to get back on it!

    • ContradictingKimmy November 6, 2011 at 10:48 am #

      It has definitely helped. I want to shout from the roof tops how great this is because I wish I would have known sooner. I’m going to check out that website!

  4. T November 7, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    “motherfucking $52 grocery bill” …you need to be my mother.

Leave a Reply

