Attack of the Four Eyed Monster

13 Sep

Here’s the latest: My baby is broken and so she had to get glasses.

When I say that she’s broken, I’m talking about a condition that she has that causes one of her eyes to turn inward. It is hereditary. Many people in my family have had it (on both sides of my family, she was screwed before birth), and many people in my family have gone blind in one eye because of it. When one eye faces inward, you will automatically stop using it and begin to depend on the eye that sees the best. Not using the eye causes it to stop working. The doctor said that it is great that we caught the problem so young, because it can be corrected before she loses vision.

The first step in correction is using glasses. Putting a prescription in front of the eye forces her to focus the eye, which forces her to use it. In 50% of cases caught this young, the eye muscles train themselves back into place because of the glasses causing her to use the eye. In the other 50% of kids, surgery is required. The glasses aren’t pointless in these cases, though. They still force the child to use the eye, which helps to make sure that they do not go blind and that their vision doesn’t get worse. Another thing I learned? Baby glasses cost about twice as much as adult glasses. I’m very thankful for insurance, right now.

Also, I thought it was really neat how the doctor figured out the prescription. I asked a million questions and I’m sure the doctor wanted to throw something at me. She held up a piece of glass with 10 different circles on it to Zoey’s eye. She shined the light through each circle and into the baby’s eye. She explained that these circles were sort of like prisms, and they cause light to reflect from the eye similar to the way your eyes turn red when the flash from a camera goes off. She said that she could tell from the amount of light that came back, which prescription to give to Zoey.

Now I have to admit, while I was expecting some sort of eye issue to be found, I still wasn’t prepared for my daughter to be put in glasses. She was only six months old at the time. It made me feel like I made a baby who wasn’t perfect. Like she was “broken.” It made me so upset because I can remember hating to wear my glasses throughout my entire life. I had always hoped that she would get “perfect” eyes from my husband (I can’t see two feet in front of me without glasses). I was disappointed for a while, until I took my daughter in public for the first time after getting glasses. Complete strangers will shout at you from across the room/doctor’s office/grocery store/any store just to tell you how cute they think your baby-with-glasses is. Seriously! I don’t think that this is just because Louisiana people are overly friendly, either! I think that people just really love babies in glasses! I had no idea, because I had never really paid attention to babies before I had one. I –I mean, she— was getting so much positive attention from the glasses that I began to seriously love them. Now Zoey is “the cute baby with glasses” instead of “the super fat baby with a million rolls all over her body.”

So now Zoey has had her glasses for a few weeks. She’s doing better than I expected. She definitely pulls them off (constantly). She definitely tries to eat them. It just isn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I thought she would scream every time we would put them on her. Nope! She gets happy at first. I’m guessing because it really does help her. I’m just happy that she won’t go blind in that eye. I’m also happy about all of those really nice comments from strangers. Not going to deny that.

5 Responses to “Attack of the Four Eyed Monster”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster September 13, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Just yesterday, I was driving home wondering how prescriptions for pre-verbal children were figured out! I’m glad to now have the answer, many hours after I’d forgotten I had the question.

    Zoey looks adorable with her glasses. Just adorable.

    • ContradictingKimmy September 13, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

      I’m glad to have helped you! 🙂
      I was super curious. I positive that the doctor was annoyed with me. I was bouncing with questions vomiting from my mouth.
      And thank you!

  2. adrienne February 3, 2014 at 8:25 pm #

    Hi there, I just found your blog by looking up “baby glasses”. My baby girl needs glasses at 14-month for the same condition as your Zoey. I’m wondering if you remember what brand of glasses you got for her and whether or not that elastic band on the back is necessary. Thanks so much!

    • ContradictingKimmy February 3, 2014 at 11:04 pm #

      Yes! Man, I forgot about writing this blog and this was a trip down memory lane for me. Zoey is turning three in two weeks. I do not remember the brand of the metal glasses, but I can tell you that they were horrible. She broke them at least once a week (thankful for the insurance!) They also constantly slid down her nose and she spent more time looking over them than through them. We later discovered Miraflex glasses. They were AWESOME. They are made from a type of rubber or plastic. They are basically unbreakable. She kept the same pair for maybe two years. At first, I was not happy about the strap on the back. I thought it would be ugly. I quickly learned that it was a lifesaver and that it could be easily hidden under her hair (in the same way a headband goes around the bottom of your head). The strap prevented the glasses from sliding down, which meant that she actually looked through the lenses and they were more effective. No one was even able to tell that there was a strap in the back. They also come in many different colors. I highly recommend miraflex glasses. Now, Zoey no longer needs glasses. They strengthened the muscles and now her eyes are just fine. Here is the website. 🙂 http://www.miraflex.info/

      • adrienne February 4, 2014 at 5:47 pm #

        thanks so much! Everyone keeps saying Miraflex, so I guess that’s what I gotta do. They are so darn expensive, but if that’s what works, ok.

Leave a Reply

