Tea Time

6 Aug

Now that I have the kindle app on my phone, I have been reading a lot. I read when I’m feeding Zoey, I read when I’m in the bathroom, I read when I’m fixing bottles, I read when I’m watching tv, I read before bed, etc. I’m reading constantly and I’m on my fourth book in about a week and a half. With reading, comes inspiration (apparently).

Some of these books take place in England, and those people sure love their tea! I’ve always hated tea. I’ve hated it all of my life. Here in Louisiana, everyone drinks cold tea with sugar. I don’t like that, much less the thought of tea that is hot. I’m very aware of the health benefits of tea, though. With that in mind, and admiration for the characters in my books that drink it like water, I decided that I will become a tea drinker. That’s right. I decided.

I went to the grocery store and bought a few different types of tea. I got the fruity kinds because I figured that I would like those better. It was a safe place to start. When we got home that night, I had my first cup of tea… and liked it.

It wasn’t a fake “I want to like it so I will”. I actually enjoyed it. I’m just as surprised as everyone else. I thought that I would hate it and that I would need to drink it often to acquire a taste. After I finish this box of tea, I will move on to green tea. Green tea is supposed to help prevent cancer. If you live in Louisiana, you need all of the help you can get. I can’t think of one elderly person that hasn’t had at least one type of cancer before dying.

Now, when I make my husband’s coffee every morning, I also prepare a cup of tea for myself. It is my new coffee. Moral of the story is to try new things, even if you think you won’t like them. Don’t get me wrong, I still have strong opinions about certain foods and things. Mostly issues about texture (I hate mushrooms, they feel weird). Just don’t let the fact that you “know” you hate something stop you from trying something that you could end up really loving. I “knew” that I really hated this guy at work. Then I ended up liking him and marrying him. Oops.

Wish me luck! You are all welcome to come on this “tea journey” with me. Tell me your favorite tea flavors and brands. I will try to find and taste them all. If you are interested in the teas I have been trying, feel free to email me or message me on a social network.

3 Responses to “Tea Time”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster August 6, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    My absolute favorite tea is Good Earth’s Original Blend. That’s the only tea I take without any kind of sweetener. I end up having green tea at the office because it’s what the have on hand. I don’t dislike it, but I definitely do require sweetener in it!

    I principally try new things because I feel I’m then allowed to gripe about them from a place of knowing. I used to gripe about things without trying them, only to discover–when challenged!–that I actually did like them. Apparently how I felt about things at six isn’t how I feel about (all of) them at 32. 😉

    I’m with you on the texture question. Uni, ugh! It’s like eating sandy jello. *shudder*

  2. Heather B August 31, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    I’m trying Tazo Chia tea; I use milk with it!!

  3. Jeanie September 4, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Keemun tea is great. Also wild berry tea. -Jeanie

Leave a Reply

