Solid Food for Thought

21 Jul

It’s official, we have started Zoey on solid foods. I waited until her five month “birthday”. We started with carrots, and it was an adorable experience.

On the first day, she was very unsure about having a new flavor and texture in her mouth. She didn’t like it at first. The next day, she loved it. My husband joked that she is just like me. It is normal for me to not want to try something new, but love it once I try it. I laughed it off when he said it, but now I’m thinking about it more. Imagine how much better my life would be if I wouldn’t have my mind set on not trying certain new things.

A lot of people who know me probably wouldn’t believe this about me. Mostly because I’m usually very open to most things. When it comes to food, activities, and other things, I’m nervous about change. I could eat rice and gravy every day for the rest of my life and I have no desire to try weird ingredients that I’ve never heard of. If I would try these things, I might find a new favorite food. I could miss out on an awesome new food, simply because I’m afraid to try something that I’m unfamiliar with. I could miss out on a new hobby because I think that it won’t be fun and I don’t even try it.

Perfect example: I hate video games. Mostly because I like attention and they take my husband’s attention away (let’s be real). The other day he downloaded onto the xbox a demo to an old Nintendo game that I played when I was younger. He asked me to play it with him and I refused at first. Eventually, I gave in. I had so much fun that I made him download the full version. We’ve been playing it pretty much every night since then, and I have a blast. (I also have a blast talking smack, because I kick his butt.)

If I would have said no to playing a game with him (like I always do), I could have missed out on extra bonding time. It was a lot of fun. I could have missed out on it all.

Now, I’m going to try to do new things often. I’m going to try and push myself out of my comfort zone more often. I want to encourage everyone else to do the same. Life is much too short, and it is really important to enjoy your life. Don’t forget to enjoy it. I know that it can get stressful at times, but don’t forget to love your life.

Just earlier, I was dancing in my living room while drinking wine straight from the bottle. Keep life fun. While you’re at it, tell people how you feel. If you have a nice thought about someone, you should definitely tell them. You never know when someone may need to hear something nice and you might make their entire day better.

These are new things I’m trying to live by. This damn baby is teaching me more than I’m teaching her.

2 Responses to “Solid Food for Thought”

  1. Kate July 22, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    I would love to push myself to try new things as well. I need to find new activities I enjoy, fun things to do, etc. I pushed myself to start a workout routine, and I am enjoying that so far. I’d love to find new mommy activities. It’s time to enjoy life!

  2. Heather B July 22, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    I LOVE this post….so much! Love love love. GO KIMMY!!! Totally behind you on this 🙂

Leave a Reply

