Night OUT

17 Jul

Up until last night, we had only “gone out” twice since the baby has been born. The most recent baby-less time was dinner for our anniversary (which was in March). For this reason, last night was a pretty big deal for me. I bought a new dress, new shoes, new jewelry, all for the occasion. We met up with a few friends, had dinner, then met up with many other friends at a bar where we danced until 2:00am.

I know you as a reader are probably thinking “That’s normal, nothing to be excited about.” Sure, it used to be less exciting to me. However, now that I am home all day every day and always around kids (ONLY), this was like the Saints winning the Super Bowl all over again (well, it wasn’t quite as exciting as that, but you get the idea!)

I came home drenched in sweat with a dollar shoved in my bra. My baby was totally fine without me. It was a wonderful night and I’m glad that I got it out of my system, but I don’t think that I would be able to do that very often anymore. Not because of the difficulty in finding a babysitter, but because I feel like I have changed a lot. Not just in the things I like to do, but physically. I’ve been tired all day today, and I’m falling asleep as I type this! There’s no way I could do that two nights in a row. Maybe not even two weekends in a row. I can have just as much fun going to dinner with friends, or hanging out at someone’s house playing board games. I’m not saying that I didn’t like the club, because I really did. I’m just saying that it is fun to do every now and then, and that I no longer have the proper amount of energy to do it often. I don’t want to say I’m getting old. I’m definitely not.  Maybe I can blame it on a body that is still healing from squeezing a human out of it five months ago? I don’t know. Either way, I GOT OUT OF THE HOUSE!!!

Sorry that I kind of sped through the end, there. My dog is at my feet begging for attention. That’s what she does the second the baby is no longer in my arms. Got to give my furry baby attention now!

2 Responses to “Night OUT”

  1. Heather B July 18, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    You are not old….at all! It’s just that your body is not use to going out like that. I am glad you were able to get out of the house, though. Yay!! We need to have a game night soon. How are you at Scrabble?

    • ContradictingKimmy July 18, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

      Good enough to be a sore winner. 😉

      Have you seen the amount of smack that I talk when I beat Mikey at games?? lol

Leave a Reply

