Slutty Baby

1 Jul

There is a ridiculous debate that is happening in the “mom world” that has apparently been going on forever. I just hadn’t heard about it until now. There are two sides: Anti-baby-bikini and pro-baby-bikini. There are actually some people who think that it is inappropriate for babies and other small children to wear a bikini. I do not understand, because it is okay for these same people to post pictures of their kids in only a diaper, but if you add a swimsuit top to that, “OH NO!” Instant slut-maker. These small kids do not even have curves or boobs to show off, and everything is covered by the bikini.

Now please don’t take this the wrong way. I’m not saying that you are wrong if you are against babies in bikinis. I went through a time during my life when I thought it was inappropriate to wear swimsuits, so I always wore a shirt and shorts over them. I understand the way that some people might feel about bikinis in general. What really annoys me is the fact that this has become a major issue that people feel the need to speak out about. If you just google “babies in bikinis” I’m sure you will find several forums where moms are battling to the death over who is right and who is wrong. I have seen it, and it gets pretty nasty. I have pretty much the same message as my last post. Why is it so important to people to be “more right” than other people when it comes to parenting? Why can’t we all just accept the fact that we have different ways of doing things? There doesn’t have to be a fight over who is right and who is wrong.

That’s one thing I’ve recently learned about moms; there are A LOT of moms who believe that their way is the only way to do things. I can’t wrap my head around this. I think that my main concern is that these women are mostly my age, and that there are so many who are like this. When I visit any mom-forums, I can’t stay very long because there is so much “drama”. You would think that everyone would be encouraging each other. Isn’t that what moms are supposed to do? When moms act like children, they aren’t setting a very good example to their real children.

I have no problem with babies in bikinis. My little girl will be wearing this cute suit to my party on Sunday (excuse the purple diaper peeking out).

I also have no problem with the people who have a problem with babies in bikinis. I just want everyone to get along. Support, don’t judge. Let’s try to be positive examples.

6 Responses to “Slutty Baby”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster July 1, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    As always, I’m left going, “Yes, yes, yes!” after reading one of your entries. I wish parenting forums would be more positive places, instead of places where genuine, heartfelt questions are met with thou-shalts and judgement calls. If a baby’s at risk because of a choice? Then, heck yes, find a way to make sure the risk is removed! Otherwise, isn’t variety the spice of life? There are so many ways to raise a child to be compassionate, thoughtful and happy.

    • ContradictingKimmy July 1, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

      I also feel like those forums are a place where moms go to “one up” other moms. They want to feel like they know it all. It is so frustrating, because if I have a genuine question, I would like a helpful answer, not a “let me show you how much I know” kind of answer. You know?

  2. katieemtalks July 1, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Mom’s always like to turn against each other. The forums that are supposed to be helpful are so full of hatred sometimes. I just ignore the bad posts, and I focus on the ones that are actually there for the right reasons. Personally, I don’t see the problem with babies in bikinis. It’s not like they don’t wear less at times, like you said. I wonder how these people feel about pictures of babies in diapers or bathtubs. I wouldn’t be surprised if some of them didn’t mind these other “racy” photos. Zoey can wear her bikini with pride! And you can piss them all off with photo evidence.

  3. Heather B July 12, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I thought that she looked cute. Though I am not one for babies in bikinis (no, it’s not because I think she looks slutty; I worry about it fitting right lol), if that’s what you want to put her in, go for it. You are her mom and no people know her better that you and the hubby. Forums of any sort (mom or not) scare me lol.

Leave a Reply

