Life Reflection

19 Jun

Today is my husband’s first Father’s Day. I gave him his gifts and we had ice cream cake for breakfast. It was very nice, only it was sort of overshadowed by the sudden death of someone I used to work with.

Right after breakfast is when I got the phone call to let me know about what had happened. My former coworker, Peppy, had gotten into a bad wreck last night and died early this morning. I didn’t believe it at first. I had to let it sink in for a second. He couldn’t die. He was too nice.

Every Friday, he would bring donuts for the entire shop. He knew I didn’t like donuts so he would bring kolatchies just for me. He always treated me like I was special. If he could tell that I was having a bad day, he would pull me to the side to try and cheer me up. He reminded me so much of my father (before he went crazy). Peppy was the best mechanic in the shop, and he knew it. Even if he was working on six cars and having a rough time, if I would ask him nicely, he would squeeze in another car. When there weren’t any customers in the shop, I would always go to his work area and watch him work on cars. I would ask a million questions and he would answer every single question without getting annoyed. Sometimes, he would bring me slushies from the gas station when he would test drive vehicles post-repair. The special treatment multiplied times a million when I was pregnant. It wasn’t awkward, it was more of a fatherly type of treatment. It was just special.

The last time I saw him was a couple of weeks ago. He and another mechanic were out test driving a vehicle that they were working on and they passed by my house. I was outside so they stopped to see the baby. It was a sweet visit.

When someone you know dies, it always gets you to start thinking. He didn’t know that he was going to get into a wreck. It wasn’t in his plan. He was on his way to wherever he was going and it just happened. Another vehicle crossed the median on the interstate and hit him head-on. That really could happen to anyone. Even me. Even my husband. I do not want to die. I want to see my daughter start kindergarten. I want to see her graduate high school and college. I want to be at her wedding. I want to be there for her when she has her own children. I don’t want to miss anything at all.

Death is so final. That’s it. No more chances at life. You’re done. It can be so sudden and unexpected. It can happen to anyone at any time. It will eventually happen to everyone. We all just hope that it happens later rather than sooner. Peppy was only 45.

All I can leave you with is the typical, expected text that you would normally see from anyone writing about this subject. Tell everyone that you love, the way you feel. Don’t hold anything back. If you are upset with someone, resolve it sooner rather than later. They may not come back and you may not be able to make up later. I know that this was very predictable, but I still feel that it was important to say. This has been a common theme, lately. I even read a different blog the other day with the same message. I guess the message is just more meaningful when it hits close to home like that. I really hope that you can read this and take something from it, instead of brushing it off as cliché subject matter.

3 Responses to “Life Reflection”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster June 19, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    I said the same in a tweet. My old judo instructor’s wife was diagnosed with breast cancer a few months back. The outlook was pretty positive except for another illness (for which they don’t vaccinate in Russia) that basically, suddenly shut down her internal organs last week. She, too, was 45. It really got me thinking about these things. You just have no assurances, so why not say those loving words and know that if worse comes to worst, you’ll be remembered with love . . . or will remember someone with love, knowing they left the word confident of that love.

  2. Heather B June 20, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    I am so sorry to hear about Peppy. Death is not something to be taken lightly. I know he will be missed. You are honoring his memory by writing this and letting the world know what a great person he was.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Chapter Ends, So I Write a New One « - June 22, 2011

    […] was Peppy‘s funeral. Even though I wasn’t a family member or anything, it was still very […]

Leave a Reply

