Au Revoir, Purple

4 Jun

A few days ago, I said goodbye to my purple hair and the purple feathers in my hair. The time had come for me to get a job. It was a very sad time for me while at the salon. I didn’t want to let go of my purple.

With my plain hair, I planned to start a job hunt. Then, the father of our new neighbor mentioned to my husband that his daughter has a two-year old and that she may want a babysitter. Then that put the idea in my head that it could actually be possible for me to stay home. Then a couple of different friends started to ask me to babysit. I will begin in July taking care of my friend’s little 6 month old son.

This is an exciting new possibility. I really didn’t want to leave home. Zoey is getting to a stage where she will experience so many new things. Soon she’ll be able to sit, and play with toys. I don’t want to miss any of these things. Taking care of a few kids at home would give us enough money to help with the damage done by my husband’s pay cut. Best of all? I get to be home with my little girl.

I really applaud all working mothers. Working mothers have an extra strength that I do  not have. I wish I was strong enough to be able to leave my daughter with a sitter and go to work every day. At this time, I’m not. Maybe I will be for the next kid. Who knows? I never know, because I keep doing things that I said I would never do. One of those things was being a stay at home mom, and now I don’t want to stop being one.

2 Responses to “Au Revoir, Purple”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster June 4, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    I keep doing things I never thought I’d do as well. It turns out I’ve loved most of these things. I think the lesson in this is it’s better to eat your words than keep standing by them even when it doesn’t make sense. That’s what I tell myself, anyway! 🙂

  2. Heather B June 5, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    I’m glad you are able to work and stay at home with Zoey. You are strong.

Leave a Reply

