Can We Bring Our Kid?

22 May

I don’t like kids. Well, that isn’t entirely true. I don’t usually like kids. It’s nothing personal, I just get annoyed very easily at times, and the way that kids sometimes behave can push me over the edge. Whenever we would invite friends to our house, I would cringe when they would say “Is it ok if we bring our kids?”.  There were even times when I left text messages unanswered because I hoped that they would forget that they asked if I didn’t tell them yes or no. Plus, I felt like I would be a bitch if I would say “no”. (That’s very out of character for me, because I am usually SUPER honest, even if it hurts. I don’t usually ever leave texts unanswered intentionally.) When I throw parties, I always add “Please, no children” to the invitations. I just didn’t want the kids to touch my stuff. I didn’t want them running around my house. I didn’t like how they could get noisy. Since I’m being really honest, I’ve even declined invitations to go to other people’s houses just because I didn’t want to have their kids crawling all over me.

Don’t even get me started on how I feel about kids in the waiting rooms of doctors’ offices.

Last night, we had plans to do karaoke with friends at a bar. The plans were last-minute, and I couldn’t find a babysitter. My husband and I were very bummed that we couldn’t go out. I rarely leave the house anymore, and he needed to have fun after a long work week. Then I spoke with one of my friends, and she invited us to her house. I had to ask “the” question for the first time. “Is it ok if we bring the midget that lives with us?” Luckily, she said yes because she loves my baby’s cheeks.

I’m so glad that we went. It helped us to relax and it was SO nice to get out of the house for fun (as opposed to errands). I wouldn’t have been able to do that without bringing little Zoey along. Same goes for today. We went to a barbecue and had to bring her with us again. We had so much fun there, as well. Of course, it is difficult to not have fun when there’s a fun jump (for adult usage), booze, a hookah, and free barbecue.

So THERE. I said it. I freaking get it. Sometimes you just have to be able to bring your kids somewhere with you. If my friends would have told me that I couldn’t have brought the baby, I would have missed out on some really great times. I would have been stuck in my house. Again. Sometimes you just need to get out of your house, and the only way to do that is if you bring your kids with you.

This is hard for me to write, because I know that several of these parents that I’m talking about will read this, and think/say “Now you know how it feels!” I know. Please don’t. I’m already pretty embarrassed and being overly honest. As usual. One of my husband’s coworkers has even told me that I “keep it too real.”  Not sure if he was giving me a compliment or an insult.

Sorry, y’all. I didn’t mean to make anyone miss out on great times. I was just selfish. I’m learning.

4 Responses to “Can We Bring Our Kid?”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster May 23, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    This is great in connection with your last entry, actually! It’s an example of the generality you were talking about there. I think lots of folks will relate, on both the specific and general levels. 🙂

  2. Heather May 23, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    I think it depends on what type of gathering/party you are attending. Some situations are more suitable for children than others. I like that you put it all out there.

  3. cbeck May 23, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    We haven’t a kid yet, but I am dreading the day we do and have to go to a restaurant. Karma is likely going to smack me upside the head and have our child screaming the entire night for all of the foul thoughts I have sent the way of other parents with screaming children… Oh, that will be the day. 🙂

    • ContradictingKimmy May 23, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

      I felt the same way. Luckily, every time we have gone to restaurants, the pacifier has kept her quiet!

Leave a Reply

