Lots ‘o Pictures

20 May

One thing I hate? Parents on a social networking site that post 20 million pictures of their children. Each picture is almost identical to the one before it. I don’t understand why they think that we want to see so many pictures. At least pick the interesting ones out for us!

To be honest, I didn’t even understand why they took so many pictures. Now I do. My daughter is only three months old, but I have around 400 pictures of her. Let me say that last part again: FOUR HUNDRED PICTURES IN THREE MONTHS. I can’t help myself. She always does something that I think is cute. She could be sleeping in a funny position, a pet could be snuggling with her, she could be making a funny face, she might look cute with her daddy, or she could be smiling. The list goes on forever, really. I have tons of video too. Most of the videos are of her swinging in one of her swings.

I started noticing how many pictures I was taking, and I got nervous that I was becoming someone I hate. Again. Then I realized one thing that I do differently: I do not post every picture to a social networking site. I only post the ones that I think are cute/funny enough to share with everyone. I remember how annoyed I got when I saw so many kid pics and I do not want to do the same. Instead, I have a photo website set up, that way people can look at the pictures by choice if they want to. Family members love this. Especially since I add new pictures every day.

Moral of the story? Same moral at the end of pretty much every blog I write now, really. Don’t worry about what other people are thinking about what you do. They will probably become you one day. In the same way, don’t get so annoyed with other people as much. You will probably become them one day (that keeps happening to me). At the same time, be considerate of other people. Do not do things that you know are annoying. For instance, posting 70 million pictures of your child on a social network where it will show up in everyone else’s newsfeed.

I guess all of these pictures are kind of pointless anyway, since the world is ending tomorrow and all…

3 Responses to “Lots ‘o Pictures”

  1. Heather May 20, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Yay pictures!!!

  2. Deborah the Closet Monster May 21, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Don’t worry about what other people are thinking about what you do. They will probably become you one day. In the same way, don’t get so annoyed with other people as much. You will probably become them one day (that keeps happening to me).

    This made me laugh so much. Life these days seems to be an unending lesson in these two points for me.

    I think I’d taken 400 pictures of Li’l D within his first couple of days home. The first few days, I posted (on FB only) a dozen pictures a day–each of which looked different to me, but probably didn’t look quite so different to anyone else–and then it went down to a half-dozen. Now I post probably 3-4 pictures a week. As he’s gotten more mobile, there’s become an increasing chance the photos really are different from any that came before. 🙂

Leave a Reply

