Wipes

17 May

When I was still pregnant,  my husband and I sat down with a consultant to purchase our cloth diapers. She recommended that we use cloth wipes as well. At the time, I was very much against the idea of reusable wipes. I just felt that disposable wipes would be easier. I mean, we were already doing our part by using cloth diapers, right?

That was a little over three months ago. Many things have changed since then. I quit my job, my husband took a pay cut, and I’ve been home long enough to notice how many paper products we throw away. I was using one to two wipes per pee diaper, and those wipes go quickly. After realizing how much money we were spending on wipes, I decided that it was time to at least try cloth wipes. This past weekend, I purchased a pack of them. I also made my own by cutting up a receiving blanket, as per suggestion of a friend. (If you make your own, make sure to sew the sides of the wipes. I didn’t do that for the ones that I made, and they are starting to fray at the ends.) You can also purchase wipe solution to spray on the cloth wipes, but I felt that it would be cheaper to make my own. You can even use plain water, if you would like.

I’ve been using cloth wipes since Sunday, which was a lot of diaper changes from then to now, and I can honestly say that I like it. I just toss them into the diaper pail and wash them with the diapers. I’m still using disposable wipes for “poop diapers”, but that won’t really break the bank because Zoey only poops once a day. (You are SO welcome for that bit of information. I know that you were dying to know my daughter’s poop schedule.)

Switching to cloth wipes also made me realize how many paper towels and disinfectant wipes that I use to clean our house. Now, I plan on using washcloths much more often to clean. I think I’ll also purchase some cloth napkins for when we eat. There’s no need for us to continue throwing away paper towels. No need for us to contribute to the growing piles of garbage in the dumps any more than we already do. Definitely no need to spend too much money on items that we will use only once and throw away.

Alright. I’d better go to bed before I sound even more like a hippy. I promise, I shower regularly. Well, as regularly as a new mother can. Let me go and hug a tree– I mean kiss my daughter good night.

6 Responses to “Wipes”

  1. Lauren Awesome May 18, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    🙂

  2. Heather May 18, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    I know a few mom who use cloth diapers. When I have children, I would like to use them. Thanks for sharing about the cloth wipes, though. Haven’t heard much about them. Glad to hear that you like them and that they are working well.

    • ContradictingKimmy May 18, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      It really is super easy. I’m so happy to hear that you want to use them. 🙂 Let me know if you ever have any questions about them.

  3. Deborah the Closet Monster May 18, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Until I read this, I hadn’t realized what instigated my awareness of how much waste we’re generating: diapers! I’ve been trying to minimize our waste even on non-diaper fronts, to the point where Ba.D. actually asked me what was up. What’s up is that I’ve seen how much we’re needlessly throwing away!

    I’m going to try cloth wipes, and be more conscientious in my efforts to skip paper towels in favor or washcloths.

Leave a Reply

