Damn Baby Carriers

13 May

Don’t those parents look like idiots? The ones who wear their kid in a sling or wrap? You know who I’m talking about. It looks ridiculous. Why would anyone ever use one of those?

That’s how I used to feel. Then one day when Zoey was about three weeks old, she was fussy. I don’t just mean that she was in a bad mood. I mean that she would scream bloody murder unless she was being held. Pacifiers didn’t help. I couldn’t get anything done and my arms were about to fall off.  Seriously, there’s only so long you can hold a baby before your arm feels like it is about to stop working. There were so many things I needed to do! We didn’t have a dishwasher yet, and I had many bottles to wash. At the end of my rope (I find that I say that a lot more these days than I used to), I rushed to the store and bought a baby sling. It was amazing. I was able to “hold” her without holding her. I washed all of the bottles did some laundry. It was so wonderful, there was no more shouting. I was a convert, and a happy hypocrite. I even used it when we went grocery shopping and when I would walk the dog. It’s much easier than a stroller. Then the temperature started to rise (as it always does in Louisiana) and I started to go for walks less often. The carrier was thick and both the baby and I were always sweaty before we reached the half-way point of our walks.

Yesterday, I went to lunch with my friend. She just happened to have a baby girl four days before me. She uses wraps to hold her daughter. She had a popular brand wrap, but found that it would also get too hot. She went to a fabric store, and showed her wrap to the lady who worked there. She got a similar material, but thinner. She made a few of her own wraps and swore by them. I have always been skeptical about these wraps. They are nothing but a very long strip of material that you wrap around your body and the baby, and there aren’t any clasps or anything to secure the baby to your body. That always made me very nervous. She showed me how to use it, and gave me one of her wraps. When I got home last night, I used it and went for a walk with the dog.

–Pause–

I LOVED IT. I loved it so much more than the sling that I spent money on. We didn’t sweat or get too hot. We even made a second loop around the neighborhood. Zoey was completely safe and secure in the wrap.

Now I’m one of those parents that you see grocery shopping with a baby strapped to their body.

I couldn’t believe it. It was another thing that I had changed my mind about. I think that I’m going to have to stop forming opinions on things before I try them. There are tons of other things that I hate about other parents. I’ve already started doing some of those things, and I’m sure that there will be many more.

2 Responses to “Damn Baby Carriers”

  1. Elizabeth Gray May 13, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Ha Ha I used to think moms like that looked ridiculous too. Then I became pregnant for #3 and a friend of mine showed me the wonders of baby wearing and I have been a happy baby wearing mom ever since! You will see me around town quite often with a baby strapped to me and several other kids holding hands all in a row. 🙂 I bet you also said I will never cloth diaper. lol 🙂

  2. Heather May 14, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    I always wondered if, and how, those things worked. I’m glad you found one that works for you!

Leave a Reply

