Embarrassing Confession

9 May

Embarrassing confession: I quit my job.

When I was pregnant (and right after I had the baby), a lot of people were pressuring me to become a “stay at home mom”. Why? Because this is Louisiana. This is the south. The older cajun people here believe that all moms should stay home with their kids, unless they are bad moms. It annoyed me so much. I thought that was the most ridiculous thing I had heard. This is 2011! People don’t need to do that anymore! Plus, I wanted extra money to finish renovations.

Then the six-week postpartum mark hit; I wasn’t ready to go back to work. I couldn’t leave her with someone else!  I decided to wait one more week before going back to work. One more week passed. I still couldn’t leave her with someone else. Of course no one could possibly know how to take care of my child as well as I could, right? Certainly no one has ever taken care of a baby before I had one?

I signed up with a budgeting website to see if it was possible for us to survive on one income. It turned out that we could, we would just have to eat out less and spend less money on entertainment.  After weighing the pros and cons, and discussing it with my husband, we decided that I should quit.

Just a week before the decision was made, I was cursing all of the people who insisted that I stay home. After I actually quit, I was too embarrassed to admit that I had done so.  I didn’t want anyone to think that I was taking their advice, or that I was doing it because they said I should. I was doing it for me, and for my family. The time spent away from my sweet girl was not worth the money to me.

The secret’s out. I feel better.

So here I am. On my couch with a wiggly, half-naked baby on my chest. Not getting paid in money for being here. No extra money for renovations on our old, ugly house. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

(I also just finished an entire bar of Ghirardelli chocolate. Looks like this leftover baby-belly won’t be leaving as quickly as I would like.)

4 Responses to “Embarrassing Confession”

  1. Elizabeth Gray May 9, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Don’t feel bad Kim because I was all set to go back to work after Brody was born, but it didn’t last. I went back to work for all of 1 week with me working days while Blaine stayed home and him working nights while I stayed home. It sounded like the perfect plan in theory, but Brody was a sick baby and I just couldn’t stand to be away from him and trust anyone to care for him like I could. So here we are 10 years later and I wouldn’t change a thing.I just love being a mom, and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

  2. Deborah the Closet Monster May 9, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    I’m not usually one to feel jealous, but I’ve got to say I’m a wee bit green here. I’m home this afternoon because my 19-month-old has a fever, which has me wishing I could always be close for his fevers. Like you, I’d have shaken a fist at anyone who suggested staying at home was The Right Path. Now I’ve actually met my little one, though? I really wish I could!

    Kudos to you for figuring out how to do it–and then doing it!

    • ContradictingKimmy May 10, 2011 at 2:16 am #

      Thank you. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one. It was a very hard decision to make. I’m glad I had the chance to make this choice.

  3. Heather May 11, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Do not feel bad for the decissions you make concerning what is best for you and your family. PJ and I are not married and do not have kids but we do live together and are learning to budget. Y’all can do it!

Leave a Reply

