First Mother’s Day

8 May

You could say that my Mother’s Day started around 2:30am.

Last night, my husband went out with some friends, but I stayed home because I didn’t like the bar they were going to. He got home during a baby feeding, around 2:30am. He asked me to come to the kitchen. He had flowers, chocolate, ice cream, a card, and the promise of jewelry that hasn’t come in the mail yet. (I’m glad he mentioned the jewelry, because I saw the charge on our bank account. I was about to embarrass myself by asking about it.) He sure knows how to melt my heart. I like to pretend that I hate all things mushy, but I am tooootallly a romantic.

Then today, I made a roast in the slow cooker. Sounds delicious (and it WAS), but I’m not very patient. The entire day, that beautiful smell filled our house. The entire day, all I wanted to do was eat the roast. It was torture. The end result was wonderful.

The rest of the day was filled with snuggles and lots of pictures. I’ve never really cared about mother’s day. My mother and I have never gotten along, and we actually haven’t spoken to each other in the last few years. Basically, when mother’s day would roll around, I would complain about how pointless of a holiday it was. This time around? I was excited beyond belief. I can now understand why people love their moms; it’s because of the love they receive from them. I didn’t know about this love until I had a baby and felt that love for her. I can’t even imagine how wonderful it must feel for people who experienced that love from their mother all of their lives, but I’m excited and eager to give it to my daughter now.

Oh snap, I just got super mushy. I better go and punch a puppy to balance that out.

2 Responses to “First Mother’s Day”

  1. shanelley May 9, 2011 at 4:30 am #

    Punch a puppy…. Hahaha. Love your blog already.

  2. Heather May 11, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Growing up, Mother’s Day was a big thing. This Mother’s Day, PJ and I cooked (okay, so PJ cooked) for our parents. They met for the first time. We all had a good time. My mom usually posts what a good day she had on Facebook every night. Checking FB Sunday night, nothing. It’s Wednesday and still no word from her. We even sent my sister food at work and didn’t even get a thank you. Maybe it will mean more when I become a mom. I’m glad you had a good first Mother’s Day….with many more to come!

Leave a Reply

